June 17 2021
1:48 AM
banner-icon1 banner-icon2 banner-icon3

Local Oregon News

Local News Index

Previous story Counties with Oregon's biggest cities moved to extreme risk Next story
  15 Oregon counties return to extreme risk   Oregon Gov. Kate Brown on Tuesday announced that 15 counties, including Multnomah and Clackamas, will move back into the extreme risk category for COVID-19  

Story by ANDREW SELSKY - Story Source
Published on Wednesday April 28, 2021 - 5:53 AM
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter
SALEM, Oregon - Oregon's Governor Kate Brown said Tuesday rising COVID-19 hospitalizations threaten to overwhelm doctors, and she is moving 15 counties into the extreme risk category, which imposes restrictions that include banning indoor restaurant dining.

Some of the state's biggest cities, including Portland, Salem, Bend and Eugene, are in the counties that will be in the direst category, effective Friday.

"If we don't act now, doctors, nurses, hospitals, and other health care providers in Oregon will be stretched to their limits treating severe cases of COVID-19," Brown said in a statement.

The move comes, ironically, as the supply of vaccines is exceeding demand. "There are appointments available right now all across the state," Brown said.


Here are the 15 Oregon counties moving to extreme COVID risk

The updated risk levels will be in effect from April 30 - May 6:

Extreme risk (15 counties)

  • Baker (Moved from High)
  • Clackamas (Moved from High)
  • Columbia (Moved from High)
  • Crook (Moved from High)
  • Deschutes (Moved from High)
  • Grant (Moved from Lower)
  • Jackson (Moved from High)
  • Josephine (Moved from High)
  • Klamath (Moved from High)
  • Lane (Moved from High)
  • Linn (Moved from High)
  • Marion (Moved from High)
  • Multnomah (Moved from High)
  • Polk (Moved from High)
  • Wasco (Moved from High)

High risk (9 counties)

  • Benton
  • Clatsop
  • Coos
  • Hood River (Moved from Moderate)
  • Jefferson
  • Lincoln
  • Washington
  • Umatilla (Moved from Moderate)
  • Yamhill

Moderate risk (4 counties)

  • Curry
  • Douglas (Moved from High)
  • Malheur (Moved from Lower)
  • Tillamook (Moved from High)

Lower risk (8 counties)

  • Gilliam
  • Harney
  • Lake
  • Morrow
  • Sherman
  • Union
  • Wallowa
  • Wheeler

Counties moving to extreme risk will stay at that level for a maximum of three weeks and can move to a lower risk level if their case rates improve. Meanwhile, the governor's office announced that updated risk levels will be announced weekly for at least the next three weeks, "in an effort to speed up the return to normal business operations."


by KGW Staff